About GRIP

Mpumalanga Province has South Africa’s highest HIV and AIDS statistics, and about 60% of those infected and affected are women and children (Source: National Aids Council, 2015). There is an urgent need to advocate for Gender Based Violence and Rape prioritisation in the province.

An alarming number of rapes are committed by relatives, homes are no longer a place of safety, nurturing and protection. The predators are the victims’ very own brothers and fathers. The safety and protection of vulnerable children and unemployed women and girls is severely compromised. Families and communities are now more than ever a critical stakeholders for effective and impact driven programming in preventing GBV and rape crimes.


GRIP was established in 2000 after a teenage girl contracted HIV from a rape incident and eventually died of an AIDS related illness.


GRIP ensures that all rape survivors will be provided with:

  • Barrier free points of first contact;
  • Proper survivor friendly statement taking process;
  • Adequate forensic data collection;
  • Timeous administration of the PEP treatment;
  • Holding office bearers and officials accountable for the rights and wellbeing of all survivors.

This model allows GRIP to actively support and enhance the efficiency of the South African Police Service, the Department of Health, the Department of Justice, the National Prosecuting Authority, and the Department of Social Development.
















Our Team

Our Trustees
  • Sakina Mohamed– CEO
  • Licky Thusi – Deputy CEO
  • Tanaka Majecha – Bookkeeper
  • Roqueia Ally – Monitoring and Evaluation
  • Nomshado Ndlovu – Awareness Officer
  • Nomonde Mkhatshwa – Social Worker
  • Vivian Randzelani – Logistics Officer
  • Joyce Madonsela – HCT Nurse
  • Wandai Gonese – CSW Programme Officer
  • Sbongile Mkhonto – Friend of the Court: Barberton
  • Ntombifuthi Sambo – Friend of the Court: Tonga
  • Constance Mdluli – Friend of the Court: Nelspruit
  • Mumsy Mashego – Friend of the Court: Mhala
  • Rosetta Thwala – Friend of the Court: Piet Retief
  • Penelope MacFarlane
  • James Thrush (Treasurer)
  • Caryn-Leigh Lombard
  • Nthato Motlana (Chairperson)
  • Nishi Naidoo
  • Quinton Lenyai
  • David Shabangu
  • Dolly Mbuyane